top of page
  • carriefarrell15

Winter Hiking: Essentials with Kids

Updated: Jan 21

With winter right around the corner, now is the perfect time to start prepping and organizing our winter hiking essentials. Whether you are looking to add on to your list of essentials or start fresh, hopefully this post will help give you some ideas.


  • My number one must have item are good quality socks. For winter hikes you want to look for a good wool blend, preferably merino. Wool is great for moisture wicking and insulation. It dries fast and doesn't retain smell like other socks do. Merino wool blends are the best option, but any good quality (read non itchy) wool blends will do. I love my smartwool socks, but you can also find some good deals on REI, LLbean, or even amazon.


  • Base layers: Again, you want to look for something here that is moisture wicking. Avoid cotton or cotton blends. Merino wool base layers are great, but if you are working with a tight budget like I am, look for a synthetic blend like polyester, rayon, or polypropylene. You can pick up some cheap ones at thrift stores, thredup, amazon, or on sales through REI or similar outdoor fitters.


  • Quality mid and outer layers: For mid layers, the most common go to would be fleece or fleece lined items. You can find some decent ones on amazon or even at your local walmart. The weight of your mid-layer needs will vary based on your region and temperature as well as your activity level.


  • Waterproof and insulated outer layer: Basically this boil down to a good quality winter jacket and preferably a snow suit. Again depending on your region, temperature, and activity level you might need something like a heavy down jacket or a simple lined wind breaker. For me, I am usually carrying one or two kids so I get very sweaty and I also don't like the extra bulk. I usually do well with a good base layer and midweight fleece. If it is super cold I will add on my winter jacket, which to be honest I have had for about 6 years and have no idea where I got it, otherwise I would link it. For my kids, I make sure they start out with three layers including their down jackets. If they start to overheat or the weather warms up on the hike they will shed their jackets but keep their fleeces.

  • Insulated waterproof boots: This shouldn't need much explanation and comes down to personal fit and comfort preference. For kids, there is no need to break the bank. Any decent snow boot will do as long as the socks are high quality. For adults, something that is waterproof, insulated, and not too rigid to allow for movement.

  • Hats, Mittens, Scarves etc.: Making sure hands and faces are covered are equally as important. Fleece lined hats and mittens will help keep little heads and hands warm. Ideally look for mittens that are waterproof so your little ones can play in the snow without worrying about getting their hands wet and cold.


  • And lastly, snacks, snack, snacks. I find it's easy to give everyone a snack right before we start the hike and have a bunch of snacks handy to toss them throughout the hike. This keeps them from complaining too much, and helps keep their bodies fueled.


I could certainly keep adding to this list, but the point is to highlight the must haves. Depending on your situation you might find that you prefer to have a toddler backpack carrier, baby carrier, sled, snowshoes, crampons, etc. Depending on the hike I usually bring my snowshoes or crampons and my kid carriers for the twins, but for shorter hikes I might leave the carriers at home. Research the trail you want to hike and the weather forecast to make your best judgements. And have fun!



Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page